Alex Figueroa

Things that happen on my everyday life…

Here we go Ubuntu!

I just finished the set up of a “server” running Ubuntu. The “server” is my old P4 1.3 ghz desktop PC.

It was on the closet getting dust, so I decided to set it up using Ubuntu. I’m planning to install XAMPP so I can get Apache, MySQL and PHP.

Why do I need all the stuff?
During my job hunt I realized that most of the job offers require knowledge in SQL so I thought that it would be good to learn a little bit more about it.

Here’s my configuration:

  • Ubuntu 9.04 Desktop
  • VNC (As I’m using my old PC, I didn’t want the old, big CRT monitor on my small, full of things, desk so I followed this guide. Likewise you’re gonna need a VNC Client; there are a lot of them but on my Macbook I use Chicken of the VNC.)
  • Linksys running DD-WRT (my LAN)

To install XAMPP I will follow this guide. Also in this same page you can find a lot of practice examples; the author of the blog has called these posts “Operaciones con bases de datos ofim├íticas y corporativas”.

Any recommendations?

Ubuntu

Ubuntu

September 17, 2009 Posted by | Job, Life, MySQL, Ubuntu | , , , , , | Leave a comment